• Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter


Bokamoso Kgomotso Molema better known by his stage name Ricky Tyler was born free, May 1994 at Charlotte Maxeke Johannesburg Academic Hospital, one month after the first democratic elections in South Africa. He was raised by his single mother, "The most inspirational woman I have ever met" said Ricky. 


He grew up in Spruitview Gardens in the East of Johannesburg, the youngest of his two siblings.


In 2012, Ricky entered a talent search audition held at Emperors Palace by the Applause Rising Talent Showcase & the International Arts Convention where the prize came with the opportunity to walk the runway at the PLITZ for New York Fashion Week. Ricky made quite an impression on the judges and was part of the winning group of South Africans who were selected to go to America in 2013 and take the stage at fashion week.


He signed to PlayGround Productions in 2016 and dropped his debut single 'Swerve’ which was received so well that it attracted the attention of fellow Def Jam artist Tshego.That in turn led to the melodic “Swerve Remix” late 2016. 


Ricky Tyler wrote and performed the intro soundtrack  to Vuzu Rich Kids Season 2.


Starting off 2018 Ricky Tyler released a heartfelt pop song reminiscing about loved ones that had left us too soon titled Deja Vu. Deja Vu was Ricky’s first hit single & from its success he was invited onto Afropunk’s Battle Of The Bands competition where he made it all the way to the final stages of the competition. 


Ricky closed off 2019 collaborative record with DJ Speedsta titled ‘Understand’ which featured on Speedsta’s latest project called Palm Trees & Pretty Girls.


Early 2020 Ricky signed the Universal Music Group and released the 1st single entitled Thirty K’s of his much-anticipated debut album. Since its release, Thirty K’s has earned over 400k streams and views across all major platforms. 


On May 26th Def Jam Recordings & Universal Music Group launched their newest division Def Jam Africa. Ricky Tyler was selected as part of the 9 powerhouse artists from South Africa and Nigeria to join the Def Jam Africa roster. The other artists included Cassper Nyovest, Nadia Nakai,Tellaman,Nasty C, Boity, Larry Gaga, Tshego and Vector.


Ricky’s debut album Small World was released on the 17th of July and the album has been streamed over 1 million times across all major platforms.


Early 2021 Ricky’s song, “Everything'' was featured on the african inspired soundtrack to Eddie Murphy’s Coming 2 America, “Rhythms of Zamunda”.


Ricky was then invited to perform Everything on NPR’s Tiny Desk concert.



Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter